Posted by: GW7AAV | September 29, 2009

iPhone apps for radio Amateurs

Now that Vodafone and Orange have got their grubby little mitts on the iPhone and O2 no longer have the exclusivity they once had in the UK I suspect more UK radio amateurs will be thinking about getting one when contracts come around to be renewed.

Over on the Greek Summits on the Air Forum their has been some interest in amateur radio applications for the iPhone. You could say “it is all Greek to me” and it is, but Google Translate does a reasonable job of what Panos, SV1COX has found. Most of it might be useful to the SOTA operator or any other radio amateur who happens to own an iPhone (counts me out then!). Have a look here for a translated version or here for the Greek version.

Additionally Panos has now discovered i-PSK31 for portable PSK. On sale for only 1.59Euro.
http://www.apptism.com/apps/i-psk31

Unfortunately some of the apps require the phone to be hacked or ‘Jailbroken’.

Responses

  1. Hey, great blog…but I don’t understand how to add your site in my rss reader. Can you Help me, please 🙂

    • Seeing how I don’t which rss reader you are using and I don’t know much about them anyway I guess your best bet is to either read the help or Google it.

      Good luck Steve

  2. I don’t know If I said it already but …This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read….

  3. I usually don’t post on Blogs but ya forced me to, great info.. excellent! … I’ll add a backlink and bookmark your site.


Leave a Reply

Categories

