Posted by: GW7AAV | October 27, 2010

Kenwood TS-590S at Llandudno

I asked Waters and Stanton PLC the question “Will you have the Kenwood TS-590S at the Llandudno Rally?” They replied “It’s touch & go, they’re due to arrive Friday but if they’ll arrive before the team leaves for Llandudno is in the lap of the gods!” I do hope so, I really want to see one in the flesh. I would wait a while for all the reviews to come out before buying one however, not only to see if they are as good as Kenwood claim but also in case of any teething troubles.

There are so many interesting new rigs due out with the Icom IC-9100 and the Wouxun KG-UV920R Mobile Dual Band number one and three of my wish list to get my hands on, but it is nice to see that at least Kenwood have their rig headed for the dealers shelves. Although it does not look that special if the Kenwood TS-590S lives up to its expectations it will be the rig for the DXer on a budget. It’s super sensitive receive would make it ideal for the SOTA chaser listening for weak portable stations like me. However I doubt it will stop me lusting after the Icom 9100. I’ll just have to do some overtime and get both.

Responses

  1. Received my TS-590 this week.
    It is a real gem.
    Very easy to use and the atu is sweet.
    Compared to my TS-930, I will not be disapointed,
    First 3 qso,s were into the middle east from NZ using a windom 100 watts .. 5×7 reports

    Sandy ZL2KL


Leave a Reply

Categories

