Posted by: GW7AAV | November 11, 2010

Free Ham Radio iPhone App

If you are a radio amateur with an iPhone there are already a wide range of apps out there, some more useful than others. Mark Turner’s commercial presence on line is called KramStuff and he is pushing two of his ham apps at the moment. Ham Dashboard sounds like another of those things to clutter the taskbar of your browser, but it is in fact a neat application that shows a searchable list of nearby repeaters in the UK, along with details of input and output frequencies, a map, and a handy bearing arrow for each repeater. Reading between the lines I think future versions will have more features. It comes with a database of repeaters which can be added to or edited, and it has a handy default button for if/when you mess everything up.

Just as useful is Ham Square it is a simple and free app that shows your current Maidenhead Locator, i.e. your “square”. There are already a few apps like this and I already have one in my old PDA that does this plus it gives you all the other locators that you might need, but hey this one is free.

Personally I don’t have an iPhone yet but if I did I am sure I would be downloading these from the appstore.

Ham Square download Free
Ham Dashboard download £1.70 at time of press

Responses

  1. Thanks very much for the mention. :)

    You’re correct in thinking that Ham Dashboard will have more features added over time. Recently I added repeater data for Ireland, thanks to IRTS who kindly provided the data and gave permission for me to use it. I’d like to add data for other countries and invite national or regional repeater list keepers to get in touch. I’ve also added simple APRS tracker functionality, though for a more feature-rich tracker that will run in the background on your iPhone take a look on my website at Ham Tracker which I’m expecting Apple to approve sometime soon.

    Regarding Ham Square… which other locator formats would you like to see?

    Cheers,

    Mark / G7LEU


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 199 other followers

