Posted by: GW7AAV | April 16, 2011

Special GR callsign prefix – Count me out!

So somebody decided that radio amateurs in the UK needed a special callsign for the Royal Wedding. Now why on Earth would I be even remotely interested in that particular event? I don’t remember a special call being issued when I got married. Who the heck gives a monkey’s about the two over pampered inbreds anyway?

It is not that I particularly have any objection to the monarchy per say. It is just that I don’t give a damn about them in the same way I am totally underwhelmed by the British newspaper’s fascination with the plastic Barbie doll formerly called Jordan or for that matter the Olympic Games coming to the UK.

I have been pressurised by some of my fellow amateurs who have sad things like “Go on the air with your GR prefix and you’ll need a big stick to beat off the pileups that these odd prefixes generate. Go on the air as a GW and you’ll be left alone.”

The problem is as I see it if I apply for an R prefix it signifies my approval of what I see as an un-necessary fuss and complete waste of public money. Heck we even have an extra days holiday, how much is that costing our economy? When the Royal divorce, that will inevitably follow, happens will we be able to apply for a special prefix then? Let’s just hope they don’t decide to knock Kate off the way they did with the best thing to happen to the Royal Family in years.

If you think I am just being a grump you can apply for a GR, MR or 2ER call prefix by filling in the simple form on the OFCOM website. You will be informed by email when your application has been processed.

Responses

  1. I think the best way to use the extra holiday is to spend it activating summits using your normal callsign. If lots of SOTA and WOTA enthusiasts feel the same way then we should have a really good day!

  2. “Who the heck gives a monkey’s about the two over pampered inbreds anyway”…My response is that a bit strong even for a satirical comment, though of course your welcome to your view 🙂 Got to tell you behind the scenes some of the Royals have been very supportive of Ham radio – more than you would think,

    On the radio side I had the pleasure of instructing HRH P William radio communications theory down in Chile on his gap year – how to cut and hang a dipole, voice procedure, coax use and care etc…and found him an attentive and pleasureable down to Earth chap and were his co-ventureres- He had some advantages having done some CCF stuff but still was good and in the field his use of voice procedure – same for Kate the following year if my records are correct, so on the radio side Ill be celebrating the event, even if I cant use my GR call here in Oklahoma…
    .Laurence G4 DMA KL7 UK


Leave a Reply

Categories

